Florida has some of the toughest DUI/DWI consequences in America. Every Florida driver should know what penalties and consequences they can face if they choose to drive drunk or under the influence. The attorneys at Stechschulte Nell Law discuss what to expect if you receive a DUI or DWI and how you can best avoid drinking and driving.
Factors that Affect DUI/DWI Consequences
Many factors can affect the severity of punishment for DUI/DWI convictions in Florida. No case or conviction is cut and dry, so that is why it is very important to have a knowledgeable and experienced DUI attorney from Stechschulte Nell Law representing you.
This list shows some factors that can determine the degree of punishment for driving under the influence:
- Blood or breath alcohol level at the time of the arrest
- If a minor(s) was in the vehicle
- If there was an open container(s)
- Prior DUI convictions
- Collision with injuries or fatalities due to the DUI
- How you handle yourself/speak to law enforcement
DUI Consequences in Florida
While there can be some real-time factors that affect how a law enforcement officer might handle someone driving under the influence, when it comes to the law there are set legal penalties when the charged driver goes to court.
Penalties include set minimum and maximum financial fines, jail time, driver’s license suspension, probation, criminal record, vehicle impoundment, and other penalties such as community service or DUI school.
First time DUI offenders, if convicted, can receive:
- Fines from $500 to $1,000 if blood alcohol level was 0.08 or higher
- Fines from $1,000 to $2,000 if blood alcohol level was greater than 0.15 or there was a minor in the car
- Jail time can last from 8 hours to 6 months if BAC was 0.08 and if greater than 0.15 (or if the minor was in the car) jail time can increase to 9 months
In addition to financial fines and jail time, additional penalties for first-time convictions include mandatory 50 hours of community service, probation for up to one year, vehicle impoundment for 10 days, revocation of driver’s license for either 6 months or up to one year.
The severity of the penalties increases if the charged intoxicated driver has already received prior convictions.
Additional Financial Consequences of DUIs
Thanks to modern-day technology and conveniences, it is now easier than ever to avoid drinking and driving. Worried about driving home? Press a button on your phone and get home safely through Uber or Lyft. Midnight munchies? Never drive again when you’re under the influence and craving a snack. Use Uber Eats, DoorDash, or GrubHub to have food safely delivered to you.
On average, a DUI/DWI can cost $10,000 in attorney fees, court fees, fines, etc. And if this is not your first offense, the fines and consequences add up even more. The financial consequences can spread into your employment and housing too causing greater financial penalties.
Additionally, it is safe to assume that your car insurance rates and even life insurance rates will increase upon conviction. The average car insurance rate increase is 47% after a DUI. If this is not your first DUI, expect your increase to be even higher.
While it may seem like a financial imposition at the time, paying for an Uber ride home is certainly cheaper than paying for a DUI.
Let Stechschulte Nell Law Handle Your DUI
No one should ever drink and drive, the consequences are too severe, especially in Florida.
If you already made the mistake of drinking and driving and need representation for your DUI/DWI charge, the attorneys at Stechschulte Nell Law are experts and experienced defenders of DUI charges.
We are ready to work with you to ensure that you get the representation you deserve and that your penalties are less severe.
Call us today at (813) 280-1244 and see how we can work with you.