How a DUI Can Affect Your Car Insurance Coverage


The financial burden of a DUI conviction can be substantial. The monetary impact may include court and legal costs, DUI school, administrative fees for the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), and more. 


Our attorneys at Stechschulte Nell know all too well the consequences that our clients can face if convicted of a DUI. We explain how it can affect your car insurance coverage and how we mitigate DUI charges.  


Key Takeaways: 


  • If charged with a DUI, you will have to carry an SR-22 or an FR-44. 
  • You must receive 45 days’ notice from your insurance company before cancellation. 
  • Florida law requires drivers convicted of DUI to provide an FR-44 form with increased insurance coverage for a minimum of three years. But many insurance companies typically charge a higher premium for five years after a DUI conviction. 



Insurance Rates After DUI Conviction 


In addition to costly expenses, insurance companies are likely to cancel the insurance coverage of motorists convicted of a DUI. This may mean pursuing new insurance coverage at significantly increased rates – $2,000 or more annually. Those with a history of traffic offenses can expect a much higher rate. 


Florida passed a law in 2007 requiring anyone with a DUI conviction to give proof of financial responsibility for bodily injury or death with insurance liability.  


Those convicted of DUI must have the subsequent coverage: 


  • $100,000 to cover bodily injury to or death of one person 
  • $300,000 to cover bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in a single crash 
  • $50,000 to cover property damage in any one crash 
  • Or at least $350,000 of a combined single limit policy for at least three years 


The above requirements will give insurance companies sufficient reasoning to raise your rates, citing more significant coverage to a driver more at risk. 



Insurance Coverage Cancellation Timeframe 


Florida law requires insurance companies to give at least 45 days’ notice before terminating a policy. The majority of insurance companies typically provide exactly 45 days of notice before the cancellation. It’s important to note that cancellations related to nonpayment of premiums only require a 10-day notice. 



Insurance For Drivers with Multiple DUI Convictions  


Florida legislature has issued government-required pooling structures for high-risk drivers to ensure all drivers have insurance coverage, regardless of driving records. Individuals looking for insurance through the high-risk pool typically must have been denied auto insurance or have received an insurance policy offered at a rate higher than the high-risk pool premium within the previous 60 days. 



What You Need to Know About the FR-44 Form 


To reinstate a Florida driver’s license, FLHSMV requires verification of increased automobile and liability insurance through the Florida Uniform Financial Responsibility Certificate. This is known as the FR-44 form and must be submitted to the department’s main office in Tallahassee. The DHSMV typically will send a letter requiring the form to be sent within 30 days.  


  • If the DUI charge is reduced to a reckless driving offense, it will eliminate the need to carry Florida-mandated increased insurance coverage and the need to file an FR-44 form. 


  • You may have also heard of an SR-22 which is required for drivers who have committed serious traffic violations, like reckless driving, DUI, and driving without insurance. It is a requirement in Florida for those who have been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol.  



Informing Insurance Companies of DUI Conviction 


While most insurance companies will cancel the policies of drivers who have had their licenses suspended or revoked, there are some exceptions for longstanding customers.  


And although insurance companies don’t regularly search the driving records of their customers, an agent related to the FLHSMV periodically sends requests to insurance companies asking for verification that customers are complying with higher coverage requirements mandated by Florida law.  



Increased Insurance Premium Timeframe 


Florida law requires drivers convicted of DUI to provide an FR-44 form with increased insurance coverage for a minimum of three years. But many insurance companies typically charge a higher premium for five years after a DUI conviction. 



Learn More > The Long-Term Consequences of a DUI Conviction  



Top Tampa DUI Defense Attorneys 


In Florida, a DUI conviction can stay on your record for 75 years. So, you must have experienced defense attorneys to help you navigate your options after a DUI. Our top-rated DUI lawyers can help you move forward after a DUI arrest.  


Call now to speak with an experienced DUI lawyer at Stechschulte Nell Law. We are ready to defend your unique case.  


To learn more about how we can help

Contact us Today