Sunset Music Festival here! People from across Tampa Bay will be at Raymond James Stadium to see some of the best EDM acts in the world. The lineup includes acts like Skrillex and Zedd. Stechschulte Nell Law firm shares tips to help lower your risk for criminal charges at the event. Keep reading for all the know-before-you-go details, tips to stay safe, and of course, what to do if the worst happens and you or a friend is arrested.
Getting to Sunset Music Festival
This year, the music festival gates will open at 3:00 PM on Saturday, 5/25/19 and the party keeps rolling through Sunday, 5/26/19. The event ends at 12:00 AM both days.
You can expect police to be present at Raymond James Stadium. Our Tampa, Florida DUI and drug defense attorney recommends that you call a car service or have a designated driver (DD). Otherwise, you may find yourself stopped and facing criminal drunk or impaired driving charges. If you’re the DD, then get more details about your transportation options here.
Tips for the Sunset Music Festival in Tampa
Non-stop partying, drinking alcohol or taking other substances, and the heat can lead to dehydration. Don’t get overheated; stay hydrated and drink plenty of water. They will have water and sport drinks available for purchase at the event.
We recommend that you pace yourself by having a bottle of water in between any alcoholic drinks.
ZERO Tolerance Drug Policy
The possession, sale and/or use of any illegal or illicit drugs at the festival has a zero-tolerance policy. There will be law enforcement present to make sure the Sunset Music Festival rolls smoothly. If you are caught with illegal drugs such as ecstasy (MDMA), cocaine, and/or marijuana there will be consequences.
You’d have to get through security and if they find anything any illegal or illicit drugs as you enter the music festival they will likely call the police. Meaning you could spend the rest of the holiday weekend in jail.
In addition to Sunset Music Festival’s zero-tolerance drug policy, they also won’t allow your group in with any these items:
- Illegal or illicit substances, drugs, or drug paraphernalia
- Weapons of any kind including, but not limited to, pocket knives and self-defense sprays
- Outside food or beverage including alcohol
- Unsealed or aerosol sunscreen
- Coolers, bottles, cans, or flasks
- Inflatables, Balloons, Balls or Frisbees
- Bota Bags
- Backpacks, purses, or bags larger than 12×12 inches
These will be strictly enforced. Get the full list of what’s acceptable to bring on the Sunset Music Festival website.
Potential Consequences of Being Arrested at the Music Festival
You want this rave to be fun, and getting arrested and spending the holiday weekend behind bars –well that’s not.
These are the penalties of drug crimes in Florida:
Possession of MDMA – Ecstasy or “Molly” is a Schedule I narcotic. Possession of less than 10 grams is a third-degree felony. In Florida, MDMA possession has a maximum five-year prison sentence and up to a $5,000 fine.
Trafficking of MDMA – We get it you’re with your friends and perhaps they all wanted to have a good time. However, possession of 10 grams or more of MDMA is considered trafficking in Florida.
If convicted, there is a mandatory minimum prison term of three years and the fines can be up to a maximum of $50,000 (that’s one expensive music festival ticket). These are the consequences of trafficking between ten and 200 grams of MDMA.
Our Tampa defense lawyer has successfully represented clients that have been charged with drug possession at this concert.
Possession of Cocaine – Cocaine is considered a Schedule II narcotic. Possession of less than 28 grams of cocaine is a third-degree felony.
Selling/Trafficking Cocaine – Possession of 28 grams or more of cocaine is considered trafficking in Florida. If you are convicted of trafficking between 28 and 199 grams of cocaine, there is a mandatory minimum prison sentence of three years. You are also subject to a maximum $50,000 fine.
Possession of Marijuana or Cannabis – Recreational use of marijuana is still against the law. If you’re planning to bring anything that’s medically prescribed-although we recommend leaving it home- it’s best to keep your card with you to show if asked.
Possession of up to 20 grams of cannabis is a first-degree misdemeanor in Florida. The penalty is up to a one-year jail sentence, and a fine not exceeding $1,000. In some cases, your driver’s license may be suspended.
If charged with possession of more than 20 grams of marijuana, it is a third-degree felony.
What To Do If Arrested
Forgot to take an Uber/Lyft? Charged with possession of MDMA or other drugs? Charged with public intoxication? We’re experienced in representing clients who were arrested at the Sunset Music Festival in Tampa. Call the experienced DUI and drug crime defense attorney at Stechschulte Nell Law. We are led by a former Prosecutor and are dedicated to helping you navigate the complex process of the Florida criminal justice system.
Don’t let a lapse in judgment ruin your future. For more information on how our South Tampa, FL law firm can help, call us 24/7 (even over the holiday weekend) or request a free case review now.